General information about Abkhazia

The Republic of Abkhazia (Apsny) is a sovereign, democratic, legal state, historically affirmed by the right of the nation to the free self-determination.

The official name:

The Republic of Abkhazia

The capital:


Administrative-territorial division:

The territory of Abkhazia is divided into 7 administrative districts:

Gagra, Gudauta ,Sukhum, Gulripsh, Gal, Ochamchira,Tkuarchal

Official language:

The official language is Abkhazian, Russian is recognized along with Abkhazian language of interethnic communication.


The overwhelming majority of religious Abkhazians are Christians, insignificant part of the population confesses traditional religion - Islam and Catholicism.

Currency unit:

Currency unit of RA is the ruble (rub)


242 826


The total area is 8665 The length of the territory from west to east -more than 170 km; From the south to the north - 65 km. The total length of the border is about 600 km. 390 km - land and 210 km - sea borders.

The highest mountain peak:

Dombai-Ulgen (4049 m)


Abkhazia occupies the territory bounded from the north by slopes of the Main Caucasian ridge, from the south - the Black Sea coast. In the west, along the Psou River, Abkhazia borders with the Russian Federation, in the east, along the Ingur River – with Georgia.


Feedback form

Your message: